New Jersey Food Safety

New Jersey Food Safety Regulations

new jersey state flagAt least one person at a food establishment must have the Food Manager Certification.


Food Manager Certification

Required for Risk type 3 food establishments which are defined as:

  • “Has an extensive menu which requires the handling of raw ingredients; and is involved in the complex preparation of menu items that includes the cooking, cooling, and reheating of at least 3 or more potentially hazardous foods; Such establishments may include, but are not limited to full service restaurants, diners, commissaries, and catering operations” 
  • “Prepares and serves potentially hazardous foods including the extensive handling of raw ingredients; and the primary service population is a “highly susceptible population”. Such establishments may include, but are not limited to hospitals, nursing homes, and preschools”


Food Handler Certification

Strongly suggested. Not mandatory.



Check with your local health departments.


Certification Renewal

Food Manager – 5 years; Food Handler- 5 years.


Approved Courses

Prometric, ServSafe, National Registry of Food Safety Professionals (NRFSP)


Approved Options

Classroom, Online, or Pearson Testing Centers. Please check your local health department for the most up to date information.


Additional Resources

For additional information, visit New Jersey Department of Health resources:

Food Handler’s Study Guide

Department of Health

Food & Drug Safety