Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of Your Home in Utah?Yes, food and beverage can be sold out of a home in Utah. Home-based catering is allowed with a permit from the local health department. There may also be zoning restrictions to consider.
What is the Cottage Food Law in Utah?The Cottage Food Law in Utah is a law that provides an opportunity for individuals to legally sell certain food products within their homes and at farmers markets, craft fairs, events, and other direct sale venues. It is designed to provide a low-cost pathway for entrepreneurs to start a small business without having to obtain a license from the state or pay for costly commercial kitchen rental or buildout. The law defines what types of food products may be sold, sets standards for labeling and packaging, and limits the amount of money a cottage food operator can make in a year.
What is Required on a Cottage Food Label in Utah?In Utah, cottage food labels must include:
1. The name and address of the cottage food operation;
2. A list of ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight;
3. Allergen labeling for products containing certain allergens;
4. Specific instructions for storage and use, if applicable;
5. The words “cottage food product”; and
6. The statement “made in a home kitchen not inspected by the Department of Health”.
Are Cottage Foods Taxable in Utah?Yes, cottage food products made in Utah are subject to sales taxes. These taxes are collected at the time of sale and the seller must report them to the Utah State Tax Commission.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Cottage Foods in Utah?Yes, you do need to establish a business entity to sell cottage foods in Utah. In order to sell cottage foods in Utah you must obtain a cottage food license and register your business with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
What Permits do You Need to Sell Food out of Your Home in Utah?In order to sell food out of your home in Utah, you must obtain a food service permit from the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. This permit covers all aspects of food preparation, handling, and storage, as well as a host of other requirements. Depending on the type of food you are selling, you may also need to obtain additional permits from your local health department. You should contact your local health department for more information. Additionally, if you plan to accept payments for your food, you may also need to obtain a business license and register with the state of Utah for sales tax.
Does a Cottage Food Business Need a Food Handlers License in Utah?No, a cottage food business does not need a food handlers license in Utah. However, the business must register with the county health department in the county where the business is located. Additionally, cottage food businesses must meet certain regulations regarding food safety and labeling.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in Utah?The cost of obtaining a food safety license or certification in Utah depends on the type of license or certification you need. Generally, a Food Handler Card, which is required to work in many food service establishments, costs around $15 for online completion of an approved training program. A food safety manager certification, which is required to operate a food service facility, costs around $150 for training and the exam fee.
Who Regulates Food Safety in Utah?The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) is responsible for regulating food safety in Utah. The UDAF inspects food establishments, investigates foodborne illness complaints, and provides technical assistance to food industry personnel on food safety and sanitation practices.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in Utah?In Utah, a food handlers license is valid for three years from the date of issuance.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in Utah?In Utah, you need to obtain a local food permit from the county health department where your food truck is located. Along with this, you will also need to register your mobile food unit with the state and apply for a mobile food unit license, which will require you to provide proof of liability insurance, complete a thorough inspection and pay any applicable fees. You may also need to apply for a business license, depending on the county you are located in.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Booth in Utah?The specific permits and licenses required to operate a food booth in Utah will vary depending on the type of food being offered, the scope of the operation, and the location. Generally speaking, common permits that may be needed include a Temporary Food Service Permit, a Business License, and Food Handlers Permit. Additionally, depending on where the booth is located, additional permits such as an Air Quality Permit or Health Department Permit may be required.
What Permits do You Need for a Cottage Food Business in Utah?In Utah, there is no state license required for cottage food businesses. However, local health departments may require a cottage food license or permit. You should check with your local health department for specific requirements. Additionally, you may need a business license from your city or county.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in Utah?Selling food without a permit in Utah is a class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Additionally, the State of Utah may pursue additional civil penalties, such as revocation of the business license and/or a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per day for each violation.