Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of Your Home in New Hampshire?
Yes, you can sell food and beverages out of your home in New Hampshire, provided you adhere to the food safety regulations set forth by the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. You may need to obtain a permit from the local health officer, depending on the type of food or beverage you are selling.
What is the Cottage Food Law in New Hampshire?
The Cottage Food Law in New Hampshire is a law that enables residents to produce up to 20,000 dollars of food products for sale each year without needing a license from the state. This law allows individuals to produce and sell certain types of prepared foods, including baked goods, jams, jellies, pickles, sauces, and candy from their home kitchens. The law also requires that producers register with the Department of Agriculture and keep records of all sales.
What is Required on a Cottage Food Label in New Hampshire?
Under New Hampshire law, all cottage food products must have a label that includes the following information:
* Product name
* Producer’s name and address
* Safe handling instructions (if applicable)
* Ingredient list
* Allergen statement
* Net weight or volume
* “Made in a home kitchen, not subject to state licensing or inspection”
Are Cottage Foods Taxable in New Hampshire?
No, cottage foods are not taxable in New Hampshire.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Cottage Foods in New Hampshire?
No, you do not need to establish a business entity to sell cottage foods in New Hampshire. State law allows individuals to produce and sell certain baked goods, canned goods, confections, and other foods without having to register with the state. However, if you plan on selling more than $20,000 worth of cottage foods in a year, you must establish a business entity such as a limited liability company (LLC) or sole proprietorship. Additionally, if you plan to prepare and serve food on-site from a commercial kitchen, you must obtain food service licensure from your local health department.
What Permits do You Need to Sell Food out of Your Home in New Hampshire?
In the state of New Hampshire, there are no specific rules for selling food out of a residence. However, the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services does recommend that anyone wanting to sell food out of their home should become licensed through the local department of health and/or get a food safety training. Additionally, local ordinances and zoning regulations may apply.
For more information, please contact your local department of health or visit the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services website.
Does a Cottage Food Business Need a Food Handlers License in New Hampshire?
No, a cottage food business in New Hampshire does not need a food handlers license. Cottage food businesses are exempt from having to hold a food handlers license in New Hampshire.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in New Hampshire?
The cost of obtaining a food safety license or certification in New Hampshire varies depending on the type of license or certification desired. For instance, a permit to operate a food establishment from the State of New Hampshire typically costs between $50 and $100. A ServSafe Food Protection Manager’s Certification from the National Restaurant Association requires an exam fee of $125.
Who Regulates Food Safety in New Hampshire?
Food safety in New Hampshire is regulated by the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services, Division of Public Health Services.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in New Hampshire?
The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services does not issue food handler’s licenses. All food handlers in New Hampshire must complete a food safety training program approved by the department and obtain a certificate of completion before handling food. The certificate is valid for three years.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, anyone operating a food truck must obtain a Mobile Food Service Establishment (MFSE) license from the local health department. To obtain the license, the operator must submit an application, which is available on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services website. The application must include a detailed description of the food truck, including the types of food to be served and the process for keeping foods at appropriate temperatures. The applicant must also provide evidence of liability insurance and obtain a valid business license from the city or town where the food truck will be located. The local health department may require additional permits or licenses depending on the type of food to be served.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Booth in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, you need a Temporary Food Establishment Permit to operate a food booth. You can obtain this permit from your local Health Department. In addition, you may need other permits or licenses depending on where your food booth is located. For more information, contact your local municipality or the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services.
What Permits do You Need for a Cottage Food Business in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, cottage food businesses are regulated at the local level, so the types of permits that will be required vary depending on where the business is located. In most areas, businesses will need to obtain a local business license and/or food permits. Additionally, some cities may require a building permit or other specific permits depending on the location and type of business.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, selling food without a permit is a violation of the state’s food safety laws and can result in fines of up to $1,000 and/or jail time of up to one year.