Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of a Truck in Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, you can sell food and beverage out of a truck in Jackson County, Missouri. All vendors must comply with the regulations of the Jackson County Health Department. Vendors must obtain a food vending permit and a state license for operation of a mobile food service unit. Additionally, vendors must submit evidence of proper insurance and complete an annual inspection from the county health department.
What is the Food Truck Law in Jackson County in Missouri?The Food Truck Law in Jackson County, Missouri is set out in Title 9 of the Jackson County Code. It regulates the sale of food from mobile vendors, including food trucks, and requires that vendors must obtain a permit from the county in order to operate in Jackson County. The ordinance also sets out requirements for permits, parking, sanitation and food safety.
What is Required on a Food Label for Food Truck Food in Jackson County in Missouri?All food prepared for sale from a food truck operating in Jackson County, Missouri must comply with the labeling requirements of the Missouri Food Code. The label must include the name and address of the food truck; a list of ingredients in descending order of predominance; all major allergens (e.g., eggs, milk, peanuts, etc.); and the date of manufacture. In addition, the label must have a nutrition facts panel listing calories, total fat, saturated fat, cholesterol, sodium, total carbohydrates, dietary fiber, sugars, and protein unless the food item has been granted an exemption by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. The label must also include a statement that the product was made in a facility that is not inspected by the health department.
Are Foods Sold out of a Food Truck Taxable in Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, food sold from food trucks in Jackson County, Missouri is taxable. The Missouri Department of Revenue requires that food service providers collect sales tax on all food and drinks sold, no matter the venue.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in Jackson County in Missouri?In Jackson County, Missouri, food truck vendors need to obtain a Vendor’s License from the Jackson County Revenue Division. The fee for this license is $25.00 annually. The Vendor’s License must be renewed each year. Vendors must also obtain a Temporary Food Establishment Permit from the Jackson County Health Department. This permit must be obtained prior to operating your food truck and must be renewed annually. The fee for the permit is $50.00 per year.
Do You Need a Vehicle Inspection for Food Trucks in Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, you do need a vehicle inspection for food trucks in Jackson County, Missouri. Vehicle inspections are performed in accordance with the requirements of the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. All food truck operators in Jackson County must obtain a valid vehicle inspection certificate from an authorized inspection station and display it in their vehicles at all times.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Food out of a Food Truck in Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, you need to establish a business entity to legally sell food out of a food truck in Jackson County, Missouri. This would most likely involve forming a sole proprietorship or LLC, but you should speak to an attorney or accountant who is knowledgeable about the state’s laws and regulations to determine the best option for your business.
Can Food Trucks Serve Alcohol in Jackson County in Missouri?No, food trucks are not permitted to serve alcohol in Jackson County, Missouri.
Do I Need a Fire Suppression System in My Food Truck in ?Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, fire suppression systems are required for food trucks in Jackson County, Missouri. The county requires all mobile food trucks to have a fire suppression system that is in good working order and properly maintained.
Does a Food Truck Need a Food Handlers License in Jackson County in Missouri?Yes, a food truck in Jackson County, Missouri, must have a valid food handler’s license.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in Jackson County in Missouri?The exact cost of obtaining a food safety license or certification in Jackson County, Missouri varies by the type of food service establishment and the number of employees. Generally, businesses pay a registration fee, a license renewal fee, and a $50 fee for each employee who is required to have a Food Handlers Permit. In addition, businesses may be required to pay an annual inspection fee, as well as additional fees for special types of licenses. It is best to contact the local health department in Jackson County to determine the specific fees for the license or certification that is needed.
How Much does it Cost to Start a Food Truck in Jackson County in Missouri?The cost of starting a food truck in Jackson County, Missouri will vary dependent on the size and type of the food truck. Generally speaking, starting a food truck can range between $30,000 and $100,000 or more. This will include the cost of the truck, supplies, equipment, permits, insurance and other start-up fees.
Who Regulates Food Safety in Jackson County in Missouri?The Jackson County Health Department is responsible for regulating food safety in Jackson County, Missouri. The department’s Food Safety Division inspects and monitors food service establishments to ensure that food is prepared and stored in accordance with local and state regulations.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in Jackson County in Missouri?Food handlers licenses in Jackson County, Missouri are valid for 3 years.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in Jackson County in Missouri?In Jackson County, Missouri, it is a misdemeanor to operate a food establishment without a license. The penalty for this offense can include a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 90 days in jail.