Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of Your Home in Marion County in Indiana?Yes, you can sell food and beverages out of your home in Marion County, Indiana. However, the business must obtain a Home Occupation permit from the county’s Department of Planning & Zoning and comply with all food safety regulations.
What is the Cottage Food Law in Marion County in Indiana?The Cottage Food Law in Marion County, Indiana, allows individuals to make, package, and sell non-potentially hazardous baked goods, candy, jams, and jellies from their home kitchens without having to obtain a license or health permit from the Marion County Health Department. Under the law, a sales limit of $15,000 per year (or $50,000 per year for a Cottage Food Operation registered with the Indiana State Department of Health) is imposed on these food items. Additionally, home-based food operations must label their products with an ingredient list and the name, address and phone number of the food preparer.
What is Required on a Cottage Food Label in Marion County in Indiana?In Marion County, Indiana, cottage food labels must include the following information:
1. Name of the food product.
2. The ingredients list, in descending order by weight, including any FDA-defined major food allergens and any artificial flavorings, colorings, and preservatives.
3. The name and address of the cottage food operation.
4. A “sell-by” or “use-by” date, as applicable.
5. A statement that the product is home-prepared and may not have been inspected and approved by the Marion County Health Department.
6. A warning that “This product was prepared in a home kitchen which may not have been inspected by Marion County Health Department.”
7. The name of the cottage food operator and a statement indicating that the food was made in a home kitchen.
Are Cottage Foods Taxable in Marion County in Indiana?Yes, in Marion County, cottage foods are taxed according to the state sales and use tax rate of 7%.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Cottage Foods in Marion County in Indiana?Yes, you would need to establish a business entity to sell cottage foods in Marion County in Indiana. To do so, you would need to register with the Secretary of State and obtain a business license from your local county government. You would also need to ensure that your business meets all applicable food safety regulations.
What Permits do You Need to Sell Food out of Your Home in Marion County in Indiana?In order to sell food out of your home in Marion County, Indiana, you will need to obtain a Home Based Food Establishment (HBFE) permit from the Marion County Public Health Department. The permit is valid for one year and must be renewed annually. You must also complete an Environmental Health and Food Protection Plan to ensure that your food production and distribution methods comply with health and safety standards. In addition, you will need to have your kitchen inspected by the health department prior to obtaining the permit.
Does a Cottage Food Business Need a Food Handlers License in Marion County in Indiana?No, a cottage food business does not need a food handlers license in Marion County, Indiana. However, the Indiana State Department of Health does require food safety training for anyone who is preparing or selling food.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in Marion County in Indiana?Marion County, Indiana does not require a food safety license or certification, however, all food service establishments in the county are required to obtain a permit to operate. The permit fee is $200. Additionally, all food service establishments must employ a Certified Food Protection Manager. The certification fee is $145.
Who Regulates Food Safety in Marion County in Indiana?The Marion County, Indiana Health Department is responsible for regulating food safety in Marion County. The Health Department works with the Indiana State Department of Health to inspect and license food-service establishments and make sure they meet all the necessary safety regulations.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in Marion County in Indiana?Marion County requires food handlers to obtain a food handler certification that is valid for 3 years.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in Marion County in Indiana?To operate a food truck in Marion County, Indiana, you will need to obtain an Indiana State Food Handler’s Permit from the Indiana State Department of Health. You will also need to obtain a Business License from Marion County’s Department of Business and Neighborhood Services. Additionally, you will need to obtain an Interim Food Establishment Permit from the Marion County Health Department. Finally, you will need to get a Temporary Event Permit from the Marion County Board of Health for each event your food truck attends.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Booth in Marion County in Indiana?In order to operate a food booth in Marion County, Indiana, you will need a food service permit from the Marion County Health Department. You will also need to obtain a temporary restaurant license from the Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission. Other permits or licenses may be required depending on the specific nature of your booth and the type of food served.
What Permits do You Need for a Cottage Food Business in Marion County in Indiana?In order to operate a cottage food business in Marion County, Indiana, you will need to obtain a permit from the county health department. This permit will allow you to operate your business and will need to be renewed annually. You will also need to complete a food safety training course and obtain a food handler’s card before opening your business. Additionally, you must comply with all applicable state and local laws.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in Marion County in Indiana?In Marion County, Indiana, food service establishments that operate without a valid permit are in violation of the Marion County Public Health Department Food Code and can be subject to criminal charges and/or civil penalties. The criminal penalty for violating the food code can be up to $500 for each offense. Additionally, if found guilty of operating without a valid permit, the business can be subject to civil fines of up to $2,500 per violation.