Ohio Food Safety

Ohio Food Safety Regulations

ohio state flagOne person on staff must be certified.


Food Manager Certification

Ohio Department of  Health requires 15 hours of training offered by a course provider that has been approved by the Ohio Department of Health.
Ohio has two levels of Food Protection Training. Level One training is required for the person in charge during a shift. Level Two training is more extensive and requires passing a Food Manager Exam. If the person in charge acquires Level Two training, they do not need Level One training.


Food Handler Certification

Specific training regulations, please contact your local health department.



Check with certified training course providers.


Certification Renewal

Food Manager – 5 years; Food Handler every 2 years.


Approved Courses

Prometric, ServSafe, National Registry of Food Safety Professionals (NRFSP), and 360 Training


Approved Options

Classroom, Online, or Pearson Testing Centers. Please check your local health department for the most up to date information.


Additional Resources

For additional information, visit Ohio Department of Health resources:

Food Handler’s Study Guide

Department of Health

Department of Agriculture

Uniform Food Safety Code

Code and Definitions