Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of Your Home in West Virginia?
Yes, you can sell food and beverage out of your home in West Virginia. However, there are several safety regulations that must be followed to ensure the food is being prepared and served in a sanitary manner. A home food establishment license must be obtained from the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (WVDHHR) and all applicable local health department requirements must be met. Additionally, if you plan to sell any alcoholic beverages, you will need to obtain an additional seller’s permit from the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration.
What is the Cottage Food Law in West Virginia?
The Cottage Food Law in West Virginia is a law which allows individuals who produce and prepare food or beverages at home to sell them to the public for up to $10,000 per year without needing to obtain a food-service license or other permits. The Cottage Food Law also allows producers to sell their goods at farmers’ markets or other places where local foods are sold. It does not, however, allow any kind of cooking or preparation of food or beverages onsite at the time of sale.
What is Required on a Cottage Food Label in West Virginia?
West Virginia requires cottage food labels to include the following information:
1. The name and address of the cottage food operation;
2. The common or usual name of the product;
3. A list of ingredients, including any food allergens;
4. A “best if used by” or “best if consumed by” date;
5. The following statement: “This product was prepared in a home kitchen not subject to public health inspection”, or “This product was produced in a non-inspected home kitchen”;
6. Any additional information required for special dietary needs such as “gluten free”, “vegan”, etc.
Are Cottage Foods Taxable in West Virginia?
Yes, cottage foods are taxable in West Virginia. All food and food products sold through cottage food businesses in West Virginia are subject to the state sales tax, which is 6 percent.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Cottage Foods in West Virginia?
Yes, you need to establish a business entity to sell cottage foods in West Virginia. According to the West Virginia Code, cottage food operations must operate under any type of business entity recognized by the Secretary of State. You would need to register the business entity with the Secretary of State and obtain a business license from the West Virginia Department of Agriculture’s Office of Commodity Marketing Regulations. You would also need to obtain a food safety permit from your local health department.
What Permits do You Need to Sell Food out of Your Home in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, you must obtain a cottage food operation permit from the West Virginia Department of Agriculture in order to sell food from your home. The permit is valid for one year and must be renewed annually. You must also comply with all applicable food safety regulations and obtain relevant inspections, licensure, and permits when necessary.
Does a Cottage Food Business Need a Food Handlers License in West Virginia?
No, a cottage food business does not need a food handlers license in West Virginia. However, they must register with the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources and comply with all applicable regulations.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in West Virginia?
The cost of obtaining a food safety license or certification in West Virginia depends on the type of license or certification you need. Generally, the fees range from $50 to $200, depending on the type of license or certification you are looking for and the length of time you need it for. You can contact your local health department in West Virginia for more specific details about the fee associated with obtaining a food safety certification or license.
Who Regulates Food Safety in West Virginia?
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR) oversees food safety in West Virginia. The DHHR’s Bureau for Public Health’s Office of Environmental Health Services is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the Food Establishment Rules and Regulations. The Office of Environmental Health Services also inspects food establishments to ensure compliance with these rules and regulations.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in West Virginia?
A Food Handlers License in West Virginia is valid for two years from the date of issuance. Upon expiration, the license may be renewed by taking an approved food safety training course and passing the certification exam.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in West Virginia?
In order to operate a food truck in West Virginia, you will need to obtain several permits and licenses including a Mobile Food Unit License, a retail food Establishment License, and a West Virginia Motor Vehicle Title and Registration. You may also need to obtain a Mobile Food Vending Unit permit from the local Health Department, a Sales and Use Tax Registration Certificate from the West Virginia State Tax Department as well as other permits depending on the location of your food truck.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Booth in West Virginia?
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources requires food vendors to obtain a Temporary Food Service Permit prior to operating a food booth in the state. The permit must be obtained at least 10 days prior to the event. To apply for a permit, you must submit an application, provide proof of food safety training, and pay the applicable fee. Additional requirements may apply depending on the type of food being sold and the length of the event. For more information, please refer to the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources website.
What Permits do You Need for a Cottage Food Business in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, you will need to obtain a Cottage Food (Home Bakery) Permit from your local health department. You will also need to complete the “Agricultural Processing Facility Application” as well as the “Cottage Food Facility Application”. You may also need to obtain a business license and/or a food handler’s permit depending on the items you are producing.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, anyone who sells food without the proper permit or license can be charged with a misdemeanor and can face up to a year in jail, as well as a fine of up to $500. If the violation involves health or safety violations, then the penalty can be increased to a felony with a jail sentence of up to three years.