Can You Sell Food and Beverage out of a Truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes, you can sell food and beverage out of a truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina. However, in order to do so, you must first obtain a mobile food unit permit from the Mecklenburg County Health Department. The permit requires that your truck meets certain safety and health standards, including having a three-compartment sink, hot and cold running water, and a waste water treatment system. You must also abide by certain operating requirements such as keeping your truck sanitary and properly storing food.
What is the Food Truck Law in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
The Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners enacted the Mecklenburg County Mobile Food Vending Ordinance in January 2014. This ordinance regulates mobile food trucks in unincorporated areas of Mecklenburg County to ensure public health and safety. The ordinance requires that mobile food vendors obtain a mobile food vending permit from the Mecklenburg County Environmental Health Services department, with fees ranging from $100-$300 depending on the type of permit. The ordinance also contains regulations for siting, sanitation, and other requirements for operating a mobile food truck in the county.
What is Required on a Food Label for Food Truck Food in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Mecklenburg County requires all food sold in food trucks to meet the North Carolina Food Labeling Requirements, as outlined by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. This includes displaying certain information on food labels, including:
• The common name of each food item
• A list of ingredients
• The weight or volume of the contents
• The name and address of the manufacturer, distributor or packer
• A statement of any artificial flavorings or colorings used
• Any allergen warnings or statements, such as “contains milk” or “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
• Nutrition information including nutrient content and serving size
• Processing statements such as “pasteurized” or “refrigerated after opening”
• The date of manufacture or best before date for perishable foods
• The safe handling instructions for frozen or refrigerated foods.
Are Foods Sold out of a Food Truck Taxable in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes, all food sold in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina is subject to applicable taxes. Food trucks must register with the North Carolina Department of Revenue and collect the applicable state and local taxes for all taxable sales.
What Permits do You Need for a Food Truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
In order to operate a food truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina, you will need a Food Service Permit from the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You will also need a license from Mecklenburg County Environmental Health and a Mecklenburg County business license. Depending on the location of your food truck, you may also need to obtain special event permits, such as a Noise Ordinance Permit, a Street Use Permit, or an Outdoor Use Permit.
Do You Need a Vehicle Inspection for Food Trucks in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes, Mecklenburg County in North Carolina requires a vehicle inspection for food trucks. You may contact the county health department (980-314-9190) for more information about the inspection process, as well as any other regulations that may apply.
Do You Need to Establish a Business Entity to Sell Food out of a Food Truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes, depending on the type of food truck business, you will likely need to establish a business entity in order to legally sell food in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. Depending on the type of food truck business, you may need to form a sole proprietorship, a limited liability company (LLC), or another type of business entity. Additionally, you may need to obtain a county permit or license in order to legally operate your food truck business.
Can Food Trucks Serve Alcohol in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
No, food trucks are not allowed to serve alcohol in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina.
Do I Need a Fire Suppression System in My Food Truck in ?Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes. Mecklenburg County, North Carolina requires that all mobile food service units, including food trucks, have a fire suppression system installed and inspected annually. The fire suppression system must be installed by a state-licensed contractor and must meet the standards set forth in NFPA-17A.
Does a Food Truck Need a Food Handlers License in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Yes, a food truck in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina is required to have a valid Food Handlers License to operate. This license is issued by the Mecklenburg County Health Department.
How Much does it Cost to Obtain a Food Safety License or Certification in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
The cost of obtaining a food safety license or certification in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, will depend on the type of food service establishment and the associated requirements. Generally, food service establishments in Mecklenburg County must obtain a Food Service Permit from the Mecklenburg County Environmental Health Department. This permit costs $175 for new applications and $75 for renewals. Additionally, there may be additional fees associated with the permit depending on the type of establishment. For example, a mobile food unit may require an additional fee of $50 for a permit.
How Much does it Cost to Start a Food Truck in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
The cost of starting a food truck in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina will vary based on the size and scope of your food truck business. In general, the costs associated with starting a food truck business may include the purchase or lease of a food truck, the cost of permits and licenses, and other business operating expenses such as insurance, marketing, and equipment. Depending on the location and scale of your business, you may be required to pay additional fees for parking and health codes inspections. You may also need to factor in employee wages and other personnel-related costs. The total cost of starting a food truck in Mecklenburg County could range anywhere from $20,000 to $50,000.
Who Regulates Food Safety in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Food safety in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina is regulated by the Environmental Health Services Branch of the Mecklenburg County Health Department.
How Long Does a Food Handlers License Last in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
Mecklenburg County does not issue a food handlers license. The North Carolina Food Protection Manager Certification is required for certain types of food establishments in North Carolina. This certification is valid for five years.
What are the Penalties for Selling Food without a Permit in Mecklenburg County in North Carolina?
The penalties for selling food without a permit in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina depend on the specific type of violation. Generally, selling food without a permit is a misdemeanor offense and is punishable by fines of up to $500 and/or up to 60 days in jail. In addition, the Department of Environmental Health may impose civil fines for violations of the Mecklenburg County Food Service Rules and Regulations. The amount of the civil fine depends on the severity of the violation.